All in the family

I find it amazing the differences you can find in one family.  I was recently visiting with a friend of mine.  I had not seen him in years and went over for dinner.  While there my friend started to talk about his sister.  You could not find a more opposite pair of siblings, with the exception of me and my brother. My friend works in the marketing department at a Fortune 500 company.  His sister volunteers at a homeless shelter.  He is a conservative and she is a progressive.

I wonder if that happens in White House families.  I can only imagine the high level of pressure that would happen in White House families.  I cannot imagine what happens in White House families when there are political disagreements.  White House families have it hard enough with the world looking at their every move and decision.  If there are political disagreements in White House families I can imagine the opposition making the most of that.

I know that there is a lot of tension in my friend’s family.  He and his sister have a difficult time even having dinner together before they dissolve into an argument over their political difference.  White House families must experience that each day.

I saw that presidential historian Doug Wead was doing some work on White House families.  That would be interesting to see what happens to White House families when there are political disagreements.  I know my friend would identify in his own way.  He and his sister have a difficult time being in the same room.

As the evening went on his sister actually called and the obligatory argument ensued.  He made the mistake of bringing up the economy and how he felt a turnaround was coming.  She reminded him of the hundreds of homeless she sees everyday.  It got ugly.

White House families are sure to have these kinds of disagreements but with the added pressure of being under the world’s microscope.

About jpotter37

I am a beginning blogger who is interested in politics. I am a proud dad of 4 great kids and a wife that I love. I am certainly not an exp
This entry was posted in White House families and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

